Announcing the winners of the 2023 Health Care Climate Challenge

Novedades Noviembre 28, 2023

Each year, we celebrate institutions at the forefront of health care climate action with our Health Care Climate Challenge awards. These hospitals and health systems are pioneering innovative and effective solutions to mitigate health care’s climate footprint and enhance their resilience. They are beacons around the world guiding the health care sector on its climate-smart journey.  

We are thrilled to announce that the 2023 cohort of Climate Challenge participants includes over 200 institutions from 18 countries! These exceptional organizations are dedicated to embracing low-carbon health care practices, implementing robust climate resilience strategies, and advocating for policies that safeguard the health of our planet.

New this year is an updated award structure for the Health Care Climate Challenge to recognize participating institutions reporting, advancing, and excelling in their climate action efforts. With this new scheme comes our first-ever elite Climate Champion award to recognize one institution per region that is excelling in their work. 

Our 2023 Climate Champions are:

  • BUPA, Global
  • Fundación Hospital San Pedro, Colombia
  • Netcare Limited, South Africa
  • Rede D'Or São Luiz S.A., Brazil
  • The Eye Surgery Hastings, New Zealand
  • University of California Los Angeles Health, United States
  • Wolica Healthcare Center for Lung Diseases and Tuberculosis, Poland 


We are honored and privileged to recognize the accomplishments of these organizations and celebrate their success. We look forward to showcasing their work and inspiring other hospitals and health systems to rise to the challenge. Join us in celebrating our 2023 Climate Challenge winners! 

Meet the 2023 award winners and participants.